Are you a member of the DEVONPORT GOLF CLUB? Why not LOGIN HERE?

History of the Devonport Golf Club

Since 1921

A 500 metre tree lined drive from the entrance gates to the clubhouse offers the golfer a charming introduction to one of the prettiest golf courses In Tasmania.
Devonport, astride the Mersey River is in the third largest city in Tasmania and is one of the fastest growing areas outside of Hobart and Launceston.
Shortly after World War I, sportsmen in Devonport, who had previously enjoyed hitting golf balls around the Victoria Parade area near the mouth of the Mersey River, decided it was time to form a golf club and at a public meeting on the 14th January 1921 the Devonport Golf Club came into existence. A nine-hole course was first formed at East Devonport but in 1956 transferred to the present site at “Woodrising”. The first competition on the new nine-hole course was played on the 17th November 1956 and the present 18-hole layout was officially opened on the 22nd April 1961 by the then Premier of Tasmania the Hon. Eric Reece.
The name “Woodrising” can be attributed to an Anglican Clergyman, Claude William Roberts, B.A., son of the Rev. Arthur Roberts M.A., of Woodrising, Norfolk, England. He arrived in Tasmania with his wife and 10 children in 1879 and after spending some months at St. Johns Church, New Town Hobart, moved to the North West Coast. They landed in Torquay, now East Devonport and travelled by small river steamboat to the property the family had purchased. He named the property after his father’s parish “Woodrising” in England.

Course Design

Designed by Vern Morcom, who was also responsible for the Royal Hobart course, the Devonport layout is a par 70 that measures 5947 metres for the men’s course and a par 74 that measures 5306 for the ladies course. The current course record stands at 61 set by former Head Greenkeeper, Stuart Matthewson in the 2nd round of the 2001 Morcom Cup.
“Woodrising” has hosted the Tasmanian Open Golf Championships on many occasions and has attracted many players from interstate as well as overseas. The Senior Professional Open was run concurrently on the first two days of the open and over the years included such players as Maurice Bembridge, John Clifford, Mike Ferguson, Paul Firmstone, Terry Gale, Brian Jones, Garry Merrick, Randal Vines, Peter Toogood, Greg Norman, and Andrew Doat.

Previous Winners of the Tasmanian Open held at Devonport:

(P) Denotes Professional - (A) Denotes Amateur.

1967 - R.J. (Bob) Stanton (P) (NSW)

1972 - E.W. (Bill) Dunk (P) (NSW)

1975 - S. (Stewart) Ginn (P) (Vic) defeated Ross Metherill in a play-off

1979 - M. (Marty) Bohen (P) (USA)

1983 - R. (Bob) Shaw (P) (NSW)

1989 - I. (Ian) Stanley (P) (Vic) defeated Peter O'Malley in a play-off

1998 - G. (Geoff) Ogilvy (A) (Vic)

2005 - A. (Ashley) Hall (A) (Vic)

2007 - R. (Rohan) Blizard (A) (NSW)

2006 - B. (Ben) Parker (A) (UK)

2008 - T (Tim) Stewart (A) (NSW)